Skip to content

Did you know…..

April 30, 2010

that a baseball has yarn in it?  When I was traveling a couple of weeks ago, I was browsing through a magazine – you know, those ones that are in the back of the seat in front of you in airplanes?  Those magazines actually bore me.  I was flipping through it rather quickly when this phrase caught my eye: “A baseball contains 330 yards of yarn.”  My first thought was, “No way.”  My second thought was, “I wonder how many hats that would make?”  lol  As I looked at a skein of yarn I had with me, I quickly realized that 330 yards might make a hat and a half.  What amazed me most was 330 yards fit inside the baseball.  Of course, it might not be yarn quite like what I’m thinking.  lol

For those of you wondering, the article was about the improbability of the baseball being hit so hard (by a bat) that the leather would come off and the ball would unravel.  I guess this happened in a movie, and the article was saying that it would not happen in real life.  Regardless of the subject of the article, I found the statement interesting. ♥

2 Comments leave one →
  1. jenmarie permalink
    May 4, 2010 2:16 pm

    🙂 I am not sure why – now that I think about it – but we have had cut-in-half baseballs before, tennis balls too (they have like this rubber ball inside, obviously). But I don’t remember it being crochet-type yarn…although it’s been a long while since I saw the inside of a baseball. 🙂

  2. Becka permalink*
    May 5, 2010 8:26 am

    lol The articles just said “yarn.” I have no idea what KIND of yarn this is referring to. Maybe a glorified string? lol And I am totally NOT surprised that you/your fam has cut in half tennis and baseballs. 😉

Leave a Reply

