Skip to content

Crochet Purse Fail

September 28, 2010

I was really excited.  I was finally going to crochet myself a cute, functional purse.  Right.  This is what it was supposed to look like:

After a couple of weeks of crocheting and a few minor frustrations, this is how mine turned out:

Notice that weird bump near the bottom?  Yeah, mine is much more “boxy” than the one in the previous picture.  Sigh.  I don’t really even know what went wrong!  The only thing I can think of is that I used a “stiffer” yarn than what the pattern called for, but wouldn’t even a “softer” yarn go together the same way?  In my defense, the pattern was very unclear on how to put the bag together.  So now, I have 3 options.  1) Scrap the project and start over,  2)  Wash the project in hopes that repeated washings will soften the bag and make it more limp,  and 3)  take apart the seams and attempt to create my own version of the bag.  I’m going to start with option 3.  If that doesn’t work, we’re on to option 2.  Still not working?  Yep.  I’m going to scrap it.  And I was so excited too!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

