Skip to content

Leg Warmer Sizing Chart

March 7, 2013

A few weeks ago, I set out to make a pair of newborn leg warmers.  I was surprised at how hard it was to find an accurate chart.  Actually, it was hard to find any chart.  The charts I did find didn’t have any specifications (such as how much of the infants leg was 6″ supposed to cover?).  So, I set out to create my own.

I compiled lists from online.  I got them from a range of places:  biking companies, mothers of babies who kindly measured their children’s legs for me, and other so-called leg sizing charts.

I then took my compilations, and found the averages in each category and age.  Each measurement in my chart is an average from roughly 6 different sources.  Hopefully this will make them decently accurate.

As most leg warmer patterns indicate, you get the best results by measuring the legs of your intended target.  🙂  However, I realize this is not always possible, and so, I give you my version of the leg warmer sizing chart.  I really hope it helps you!

Leg Sizing Chart

I only included sizes for Newborn to 5 years old.  The sizes after that started to vary so much, that I will need to do some more research before publishing another chart.  🙂 ♥

Printable Version: Leg Sizing Chart

30 Comments leave one →
  1. March 7, 2013 2:31 pm

    Reblogged this on R Crafty Creations.

  2. August 16, 2013 2:08 pm

    This is exactly what I was looking for!! Thank you so much!

    • August 16, 2013 2:14 pm

      🙂 So glad it could be of help to you! I made it because I couldn’t find one!

      • August 16, 2013 2:14 pm

        It’s the only one that I have seen!!

      • August 16, 2013 2:24 pm

        I’m so happy you were able to find it! 😀

  3. AmyKay permalink
    February 1, 2014 3:51 pm

    You have made my day! I just found your sizing chart after surfing for quite awhile. I’m making legwarmers for a friend who photographs infants, and since my kids are 16 and almost 18, I have NO idea the measurements of little legs! Thanks soooo much! 🙂

    • February 3, 2014 12:19 pm

      I’m so glad that it was helpful to you! As stated, I was getting frustrated about not being able to find one either. 🙂

  4. Megan permalink
    September 16, 2014 9:53 am

    THANK YOU so so much!!!! This definitely came in handy!

  5. sylverbelle permalink
    October 22, 2014 9:46 pm

    Hi Becka!

    You are right about how difficult it was to find this info! Almost nothing came up on internet! I am wondering if it is ok to use this info you compiled (not your graph/picture) for my etsy shop. It will not be posted on a blog or anything like that. just for costumers to get an idea for ordering sizes! thank you!

    Sylvia

  6. sylverbelle permalink
    October 22, 2014 9:48 pm

    FYI- I am putting up my own info chart with those sizes right now because I am listing items tonight! but please let me know & I will happily take it down.
    Thank you!
    Sylvia

    • January 17, 2015 11:13 am

      Sorry for not getting back to you! My internet is very intermittent! 🙂 A link and credit to me for the info is sufficient. You may use it, no need to take it down. Thanks for asking!

  7. November 9, 2014 10:07 pm

    Thank you! I generally use Craft Yarn Council standards, but they have lots of holes in their data (for example, nothing at all on pants or legs or skirts, only hip measurement) and there are a couple inaccuracies (for example, their head circumference chart varies wildly from the World Health Organization growth charts), so I’ve been compiling my own much more detailed chart. As you suggested, the hardest measurements to find have been anything to do with pants. Hip measurements are everywhere, but leg measurements? Thanks so much!

  8. Darlene permalink
    January 17, 2015 9:44 am

    Thank you so much for taking the time to do all this. Much appreciated!! Darlene

  9. Kate permalink
    February 11, 2015 3:21 pm

    Thank you, thank you, thank you!

  10. cotton213 permalink
    February 21, 2015 12:11 am

    THANK YOU!!!!

  11. danielle permalink
    November 5, 2015 4:47 pm

    if you are only doing knee length leg warmers would you still use the thigh measurement for the top band?

    • November 6, 2015 12:31 pm

      I would not. I would probably make them an inch or two smaller than the calf measurements. I wasn’t able to find knee measurements. I’ll see if I can work on getting that on the chart. 🙂

  12. January 4, 2016 11:21 am

    Thank you for the chart! It was just what I was looking for! You are great!

  13. Bernie permalink
    April 27, 2016 6:56 am

    Wow thank you wanting to make some leg warmers for my great niece who’s only 10 months so hard to find measurements this is fab

  14. Teri permalink
    December 5, 2016 4:16 pm

    Thank goodness for Pinterest and you! We welcomed twins into the family this week and one of the boys legs was broken during delivery. He must wear a harness and jammies are out of the question. With your chart I’ll be able to make him some leggings to keep his legs warm! Thank you so very much!

  15. Paula permalink
    December 7, 2016 12:14 am

    This is a great reference tool! 3 years after you originally shared, I stumbled upon it & am so thankful! I have pinned & shared, and use it constantly! I am so appreciative!

  16. July 2, 2017 4:24 am

    Thank you for your hard work doing this. I was just thinking I would have to do it because I was striking out getting a size chart.

    Ty!

  17. July 21, 2017 2:24 am

    Wow I so appreciate you taking the time to do this, hopefully you see this in time. But, is this supposed to be the average size you got of the actual legs?
    or with negative ease adjustment, for the size of leg warmers. 🙂

    • August 2, 2017 9:55 pm

      I don’t know that I’m in time…:) This is the average size of the legs. You’ll have to adjust for your own level of negative ease adjustment. 🙂

Trackbacks

  1. Crochet Patterns – Leg Warmer Sizing – Baby/Kids | Pattern Paradise
  2. 6-12 Month Leg Warmers
  3. Tutu and Legwarmers | The Crochet Ballet
  4. Angelique's Leg Warmer Instructions | Crochet Contribution • Oombawka Design Crochet
  5. Newborn Legwarmers | LittleYoungLady

Leave a Reply

