Skip to content

Reflections on 2013

January 2, 2014

While many, many good things came of 2013, I have a feeling this will be a short post.  🙂

1.  I ventured into pattern selling and it was one of the best moves I could have made!  I’m starting to head more in that direction.  I have lots of fun patterns in the works (works of my mind, at this point), so keep an eye out for some great new patterns!

2.  My Gimli pattern had huge success (much greater success than I had hoped for) and has inspired me to venture into creating some more complicated patterns.  I’m still trying to figure out trademark and copyright laws concerning certain characters, so I’m not sure how many of these patterns you will actually see.  🙂

3.  I sold two of the completed Gimli Helmets and Beards this year, and somehow feel that might be my limit.  I knew that I would limit those to a certain number per year, and I was thinking 3, but it might be 2.  🙂

4.  I also started giving crochet lessons and found that I adore it!  I love teaching someone such a creative hobby.  I enjoy helping my students through the process and seeing their amazing progress.  I’m hoping to have time for more lessons late in 2014.  For now, working full time and giving lessons on the side keeps me pretty busy!

5.  I participated in two craft shows this year.  Had I known I was going to be pregnant, and had considered the timing of the December show, I might have chickened out.  As it is, both of the shows went great, and I’m considering a repeat of both for next year.

6.  My custom order sales were higher this year as well!  I did find that the inventory built up from my craft shows did help in making sales, since they were ready for immediate purchase. 

7.  I’m considering branching out to selling my Ready to Ship items on storenvy.  I’ve started building a store there, but have yet to list anything.  I’m trying to decide if I want the trouble of shipping or not.  😉

8.  I got my first “out of country” order this year.  While I did try to convince her to find someone within her own country, she apparently wanted to buy from me.  🙂  I’m a little nervous about the shipping process, but I’m sure it will be fine (I’ll be shipping sometime this month).

9.  I also encouraged and helped my friend start her business, Smacked with a Sparkle, this year.  It’s been so much fun to do crocheting and craft shows together!

2013 was a great year for Warming the Heart!

7 Comments leave one →
  1. January 2, 2014 7:48 pm

    Reblogged this on R Crafty Creations.

  2. January 2, 2014 8:12 pm

    sounds like a great year! I’ve tossed around the idea of selling stuff (“going pro” so to speak), but the more I read about it the more it seems like It can completely take over your life – and I just don’t have that many hours in the day. Do you think it’s something that can successfully be squeezed in with another full time job?

    • January 6, 2014 4:39 pm

      I work full time and I manage to squeeze some of it in. You just have to be able to be honest with people and say “no” if needed. I will take custom orders, but be honest about the turn around time (“it will probably be 4 weeks before I get to your item, if you want to wait that long”, etc.). I find that unless this is a “I need this for a present this weekend” type of request, most people are more than willing to wait in line. 🙂 It can be done. This year was my most successful, by far. If you decide to sell, give it time to pick up. At the beginning, I felt that every order, few though they were, would help my yarn habit at the very least. 😀 Also, I wouldn’t recommend putting a listing on etsy for custom ordering – you just might get 15 orders for the same thing when you listed your turnaround time at 2 weeks! 🙂 List only completed, ready to ship items (if you go that route), and let people contact you through etsy with custom orders.

      When I first started selling (in 2009), I was a little worried that the pressure of completing an order would rob me of the joy of crocheting, but was happy to find that this is not at all the case! 🙂 Hope that is helpful to you!

      • January 6, 2014 8:36 pm

        Very helpful! those are exactly the things I was worried about. Thanks so much for the advice, I may try to make this happen at some point this year!

      • January 7, 2014 12:50 pm

        I wish you luck! Feel free to email me with any questions you might have. While I’m not an expert, I’ve had a few years under my belt. 😉

      • January 7, 2014 4:08 pm

        Thanks, I may take you up on that 🙂

      • January 13, 2014 12:06 pm

        🙂 I look forward to hearing from you!

Leave a Reply

