Skip to content

Yarn De-Stash and Reorganization

February 18, 2014

Since the room where I once kept my yarn is being ever so slowly turned into a nursery, I had to find a new home for all my yarn.  I’d been given a lot of yarn, and I had collected a ton of yarn on my own.  I knew that some of it would have to go.

January 216

Before – isn’t it awful?

My previous “yarn cabinet,” as you can see, was not really beneficial to me anyways.  It was so far away from where I do most of my crocheting, that I rarely went up and put things where they belonged.  Not only that, though it was somewhat organized (as far as yarn brand and types), a lot of the yarn would just get stuffed in there and be a tangled mess.  It was really hard to find a specific skein, and I have even bought new yarn before, only to find it hidden in the depths of the cabinet!  It really wasn’t ideal.

Once my husband and I came to a new yarn stash placement agreement (he’s so supportive, and I really needed his ideas, not his permission), I started the process of moving my yarn, de-stashing, and reorganizing all my business stuff.

After a short while (first I had to clear out the new area, and then go through my yarn stash – got rid of two garbage bags full!), things were starting to shape up!  I’m so happy with my new yarn stash!  I’ve been really good about keeping it nice so far, and keeping my yarn mostly put away.

Check it out!

February 218

February 220

February 221

February 222

February 223

I’m so in love with this new arrangement.  The cabinet on the right side of the sideboard is actually filled with all my sewing supplies, but the top three drawers are used for a variety of things, not relating at all to crafts or hobbies!  🙂

5 Comments leave one →
  1. February 18, 2014 6:21 pm

    Reblogged this on R Crafty Creations.

  2. February 18, 2014 6:56 pm

    Looks great!

  3. Kelsea Etson permalink
    February 18, 2014 7:25 pm

    I would love a yarn stash half as big as yours! What did you do with the two bags of yarn?

    • February 19, 2014 10:15 am

      My friend went through and took at least one of the bags, then, since I give lessons, I allowed my students to go through and take what they want. I still have about half a bag left, so I’ll be checking the local schools to see if teachers need any for projects. After that, I’ll probably just donate to a thrift store, or something.

Leave a Reply

