Skip to content

How to Add a Faux Fur Pom Pom to a Hat

August 27, 2018

I hate making pom poms from yarn.  They make some crocheted items look so cute, but I really dislike making them.  For a while, I’ve loved the look of the faux fur pom poms on various hats.  So, finally, I started looking for some to purchase at a reasonable price.  I found some on Amazon that mailed from China.  I know, always a risk, but the price was good, free shipping, I went for it.  Shipping, as expected, took a while, but when my pom poms arrived, I was very pleased.  So pleased, that I went back online and ordered more.

Then the question was how to attach them to my hats.  I was originally going to use the little elastic loop on each to kinda sew them in place from the inside.  Then I was made aware of using a button to attach the pom pom.  Genius!  It allows the pom pom to be removed, either if you get tired of it, want to put a different one on, or for washing the hat, etc.

So, I tried it.  It worked beautifully!  Here is what I did:

I’ve been making a lot of brim up hats lately, so I’ll use those as my example, but it would work the same with a top down hat.  First, I cinched the top of the hat closed (as tightly as I could, but left just a small hole.

Then, next to the top middle of the hat, from the inside, I sewed a 1/2″ or 3/4″ button.  Since I had just cinched the top of my hat, I just used the remaining tail from my hat, but you don’t have to do it that way.

 

Then, turn the hat right side out, slip the loop of the pom pom through the top center of the hat, and stretch around the button.

March 147

Perfection! ~ Rebekah

One Comment leave one →
  1. August 27, 2018 12:50 pm

    So simple! Great tutorial!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment