Skip to content

Catching Rays Granny Square

April 29, 2021
by

Throwing it back to last Thursday to when I introduced y’all to my freestyle beachy top project. Several crocheters asked if there was a pattern or if I would create a pattern for the top. Well, I researched and have only found the top for sale, but no pattern. 

I decided to take you all up on the request for a pattern and have begun by creating my own square (to make it even more original). I’ve named it the Catching Rays square. It is super easy and is only 5 rounds. 👏

I hope you’ll enjoy incorporating it into any of your granny square projects. Please tag me if you do! Stay tuned for more details to come on the top pattern.

Xoxo, Rachel

Create a magic circle.
Round 1: Work 16 DC into MC. Sl st to first DC.
(16 DC)
Round 2: ch 3 (counts as first DC and ch 1 sp), *DC in between the next 2 DC, ch 1* 15x. Sl st the 2nd ch. (16 DC, 16 ch 1 sp)
Round 3: Sl st into ch 1 sp, ch 2, DC2tog in ch 1 sp, *ch 1, DC3tog* 15x. Ch 1, Sl st to the top of the DC2tog, (skipping the first ch 2.)
(16 DC3tog, 16 ch 1 sp)
Round 4: ch 4 (counts as first DC and ch 2 sp), DC in same st, sk ch 1. *(DC ch 2, DC) in top of DC3tog from previous round , sk ch 1* 15x. Sl st to the 2nd ch.
(32 DC, 16 ch 2 sp)
Round 5: ch 2 (counts as first DC), *(2 DC, ch 2, 2 DC) in ch 2 sp, 1 DC in next DC, 1 HDC in next DC, 1 HDC in ch 2 sp, 1 SC in each of the next 2 DC, 1 SC in ch 2 sp, 1 SC in each of the next 2 DC, 1 HDC in ch 2 sp, 1 HDC in next DC, 1 DC in next DC*  3x. (2 DC, ch 2, 2 DC) in ch 2 sp, 1 DC in next DC, 1 HDC in next DC, 1 HDC in ch 2 sp, 1 SC in each of the next 2 DC, 1 SC in ch 2 sp, 1 SC in each of the next 2 DC, 1 HDC in ch 2 sp, 1 HDC in last DC. Sl st to the top of the ch 2.
(60 st, 4 ch 2 sp)  
Fasten off.
2 Comments leave one →
  1. Sandy permalink
    April 28, 2022 10:35 am

    I love this pattern! Just the right amount of positive and negative space. I’m searching g through my stash for the perfect yarn to make a blanket for my granddaughter. Thank you for sharing your talent!

    Liked by 1 person

    • April 28, 2022 10:52 am

      Thank you so much for that sweet comment, Sandy! I hope you’ll share photos of your squares and blanket! 😍

      Like

Leave a comment